Dudes and Dudettes, I’m Pierce.

Posted: June 16, 2011 by landlockedmusic in Pierce

I feel like if I tell the world I’m a writer, I’m really just fooling myself. To me, real writers are all of my idols. Hemingway. Steinbeck. Salinger. Fitzgerald. Those guys can write.

Me? I’m just a kid pretending to be a writer and working everyday at no longer having to fake it. I’m majoring in journalism while I wait for that day. As you can see by my influences, I consider myself a realist writer. It’s the only kind of fiction I can churn out. But my favorite book is a work of non-fiction, actually: The Autobiography of Malcolm X. If you want, I’ll tell you why that book is brilliant. But this is neither the time nor place for such ranting.

Most of my stories will center in the 21st century involving young adults. Dialogue, self-conscious thought and mundane activities will weave in and out of my stories. I consider myself an archaeologist of the dull: forever digging away at tired scenarios in search of the human interest below the surface.

Please, if you feel so inclined, leave a comment on my stories. If it’s pleasant, I’ll smile with glee. If it’s harsh, I’ll probably wail in sorrow at my absolute failure.

As for now, may your heart never slow and may your pen never dry.

-Pierce.

Leave a Reply

