Hellfire Goes to Camp

Posted: July 5, 2011 by joemu362 in Joe

Since no one was in the offices on Monday, everyone had one extra day to get pumped over my newest post. That’s how it works, right? You all get excited over it. Humor me. I’ve been busy.

Correction: We’ve been busy.

Not like that, you dirty fool.

As some of you (most of you?) might know, I got my official induction into the World of Writers when I was 17 after participating in what was at once the most insane and rewarding project I’d ever engaged in. I wrote a 50,000 word novel in 30 days, and at the end of it, I sat at my parents’ kitchen table and said “Holy shit,” louder than I think I ever have in Mom’s presence. Why? Because I was seventeen. And I’d written a book.

Every year since then, with varying levels of quality, I’ve managed to complete one of these insane novels, but one accomplishment has still eluded me. Never once, even among my writing buddies, have I ever managed to convince someone to do it with me.

Until now.

One of the main reasons for starting the Hellfire Club was to encourage my other writing friends (and myself, of course) to push ourselves, to produce more gems of creativity. Time will tell as to how successful it’ll be, but I have managed to convince Pierce and Dan to participate in this year’s inaugural Camp NaNoWriMo event. 50k. 31 days. Come August, we’ll all have a whole shitload of material to work with, rework with, and hopefully get published in the near future. It’s a wonderful thing.

Wait a second – 31 days?! Really? These punks are getting off easy! They think they’re safe just because they’re in L.A. or on the other side of the world, eh? I have four words for that: Release the phone spiders.

So. We’ll keep you posted. I don’t know what their projects are, but I’m putting together a selection of short stories to hopefully have published through Amazon at the end of the year. Won’t that be exciting? Damn right it is.

Stata buon.

xoxo.

j

Leave a Reply

