The End of Time

Posted: July 25, 2011 by joemu362 in Joe

You know what’s a blast? Moving. And taking final exams, of course. Can’t rule that out. Good golly Miss Molly do I enjoy that.

[looks for bath towel to wipe off sarcasm]

We’re in the home stretch of the summer semester and in the eleventh hour of my living in my current apartment. What with everything being boxed up and stashed away, I can only hope to remember which box I packed my pants in.

Luckily I’ve still been finding time to work on my projects – mostly flash fiction stuff I hope to submit to Shotgun Honey or to Chuck Wendig’s newest contest – but what I’m most disappointed in is my lack of damn near anything for my Camp NaNoWriMo project. This makes two in a row where I’ve set out with a quest in mind and failed. It’s sort of embarrassing, really. I remember hammering out a novel every year through NaNoWriMo, so I have to ask myself, “What changed?” Is it the time commitment? Am I running out of steam? Does it have to do with my eating more vegetables than bacon? What’s the dealio, yo?

…Okay, I’m never saying that again. I feel dirty now. Where’s that bath towel?

I’ve given it a lot of thought, and the answer I’ve come up with isn’t one I’m too proud of. Time. It’s the number one complaint from would-be novelists or writers in general and I hate to think that that’s what’s keeping me down. After all, writers make time to write. I sure as hell did during those first few NaNos. Is it burn-out? No. I’m still working on Crows’ Harvest, after all. (Which is coming along nicely, by the way.) I’ve got a bunch of flash fiction coming down the pipe too, so I guess the real question is, what about my time is going to the crapper? Is it all the messaging I do with people during work or in avoiding homework? Probably.

The other day I turned off the wifi and was amazed at just how freaking “quiet” it got at the apartment. What with my rarely ever seeing my roomie, it’s not like I get a whole lot of talking to people done anyway. If I try to talk with other members of the Club, bam! Chat windows start popping up like toast from a fully-automatic toast dispensing gatling gun.

So I guess what I’m trying to ask is, what suggestions do you have for getting work done? Focusing on big projects that you enjoy but otherwise don’t find much time for? Is it turning off the intertubes and cranking up the stereo? Is it going to a coffee shop? Nine rounds of bareknuckle boxing until you’re so sore you can’t get up out of your chair? Suggestions please.

(And not Write or Die, please. That stresses me out like woah.)

Stata buon.

xoxo.

j

Leave a Reply

