August or Back to Camp, Back in Black

Posted: August 1, 2011 by joemu362 in Joe

So, last month didn’t go as planned. While the Hellfire Club had every intention of participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, things just didn’t pan out for any of us. Yours truly got caught up in the three accelerated summer courses he was taking, Pierce is always busy, Chris was looking for a job and moving out, and Dan…well, who knows what Dan was up to. But we know he was in Amsterdam for a while, so let’s just draw our own conclusions.

 

But we’re not quitters. At least, I’m not. If I’m not working on a hundred projects at once, I’m not happy. Or at least, I’m not my normal self. So, with my insanity in hand, I’m setting out to try again with Camp NaNoWriMo as their second month begins. Here are my goals for this month.

 

•Dirty Noir novella, working title ¡Venganza! (named after the MCR album). It’s supposed to be a maximum of 30,000 words, and if I go by Blake Snyder‘s beat sheet system, I’ll end up with an estimated 27,500 words (110 pages). More details on this later. Also, I intend to release it for free anyway.

 

•Crows’ Harvest: The other 22,500 words of the activity will be geared towards finishing my first draft of Crows’ Harvest. Is it breaking the rules of Camp NaNoWriMo? Yeah, a little bit. But as far as I’m concerned, NaNoWriMo is about giving someone motivation to write, to finish what they started. I intend to do just that.

 

I have a lot of writing I want to do this month, the month I’m staying with my parents. (Vacation!) What better time to get this shit started, worked on, and finished? Wish me luck gang. I intend to write like a motherfucker for the next thirty days.

 

Stata buon.

xoxo.

j

Leave a Reply

