Stop Worrying, Be Awesome

Posted: August 15, 2011 by joemu362 in Joe

You want to know the best thing about being alive? You’re never too old to drop everything, re-evaluate, and then go balls-out to go and do what you want to do with your life.

That’s the message I’ve been given from the past several days. Get up, get out, get your boot lodged firmly in Life’s ass. It’s amazing.

The other day, while sitting around playing Shadows of the Damned, the new trip by Suda51, a couple of friends and I decided that we really wanted to make video games. Not just, “Oh, I really want to make video games,” but “Dude. Seriously. I really want to make video games. Right now. Right now, while I’m standing here in pants of questionable cleanliness. Do I smell urine? I think that might be urine.” Next thing you know, we’re buying office equipment, programming books, and plotting out our first project. It’s pretty wild.

The one thing I worry about most with being me is that I have too many goddamn projects or things I want to do. I still very much want to get a rock band together. (My last few have failed to get out of “jam” stage.) I’m working like a madman on the book. (I’m creeping up on the 60k mark full creeper fashion, balaclava and everything.) And now I may have just started a game studio with some buddies from high school. All of them are equally enticing to me – obviously I know writing best and enjoy it the most – and I wonder how people like da Vinci managed to juggle being awesome at everything he did. I guess that’s really what I want: to be awesome at what I do. Be awesome at it and love every minute of it.

I feel like I’m growing a lot as a writer in the past few days, due in no small part to the fact that I’m actually revising a novel for the first time. It’s a big and scary experience, but it’s an educational one. An exciting one. One that deserves to be pushed through, to come out on the other side of. But I’m also trying out a lot of other new things. Writing those steampunk stories. Writing video games, stories that need to be interacted with. It’s all new, it’s all different, but it’s all amazing.

Anyhoo, I know this is more of a stream of consciousness post than I’ve done in a while, but I feel like that’s kind of how it’s been the past few days. One thing at a time, big dreams, and a whole lot more balls than is probably healthy.

Stata buon.

xoxo.

j

Leave a Reply

